Dupage Policy Journal

Dupage Policy Journal

Monday, December 16, 2019

DuPage County election recap: Mendrick wins sheriff


By Claudia Balthazar | Nov 9, 2018

Election day recap

Republican James Mendrick won DuPage County Sheriff against opponent Democrat Gregory Whalen to replace Sheriff John Zaruba, who's retiring after more than 20 years, according to unofficial results reported at press time by Mysuburbanlife.com.

Mendrick, a former patrol commander, is a career law enforcement officer who ran against a Democratic lieutenant of the Glencoe Department of Public Safety, the report noted. Mendrick received 51 percent of the vote with 175,864 votes to Whalen's 49 percent with 167,114 votes, according to results at press time.

Incumbent DuPage County Board Chairman Dan Cronin is another GOP candidate who won in the general election Nov. 6, according to unofficial results at press time. He held onto his seat as chairman of the DuPage County Board,. He defeated opponent Lynn LaPlante with 52 percent of the vote, or 177,997 votes, according to unofficial numbers. LaPlante received 48 percent, or 167,177 votes.

The Democrats took the win for DuPage County Clerk, giving Glen Ellyn’s Jean Kaczmarek 52 percent of the vote, or 178,730 votes. She beat Republican County Clerk Paul Hinds of Villa Park, who had 48 percent, or 164,234 votes, according to unofficial election results.

Voters overwhelmingly approved building an early Childhood Center in Wheaton-Warrenville School District 200, the Wheaton Patch reported.

The referendum question – "Shall the Board of Education of Wheaton-Warrenville Community Unit School District Number 200, DuPage County, Illinois, build and equip a new early childhood center without levying a separate, special property tax to finance the costs thereof?" – received approximately 24,554 votes, or 72 percent of the vote, according to the Patch report.

List of Election Results:

DuPage County Board Chairman

Republican Dan Cronin – 51.6 percent

Democrat Lynn LaPlante – 48.4 percent

DuPage County Sheriff

Republican James Mendrick – 51.3 percent

Democrat Greg Whalen – 48.7 percent

DuPage County Clerk

Republican Paul Hinds – 47.9 percent

Democrat Jean Kaczmarek – 52.1 percent

DuPage County Board Results:

DuPage County Board Member 1st District (Vote for 2)

Republican Sam Tornatore – 29.1 percent

Democrat Ashley Selmon – 26.3 percent

Republican Dino Gavanes – 22.8 percent

Democrat Zahra Suratwala – 21.8 percent

DuPage County Board Member 2nd District (Vote for 2)

Democrat Liz Chaplin – 41.7 percent

Republican Pete DiCianni – 32.1 percent

Republican Steve Nero – 26.2 percent

DuPage County Board Member 3rd District (Vote for 2)

Democrat Julie Renehan – 38 percent

Republican Greg Hart – 35 percent

Republican Martin Tully – 27 percent

DuPage County Board Member 4th District (Vote for 2)

Democrat Mary FitzGerald Ozog – 28.3 percent

Republican Grant Eckhoff – 26.5 percent

Republican Christopher Zaruba – 23.9 percent

Democrat Hadiya Afzal – 21.3 percent

DuPage County Board Member 5th District (Vote for 2)

Democrat Dawn DeSart – 27.5 percent

Democrat Sadia Covert – 25.7 percent

Republican Patty Gustin – 25.5 percent

Republican Janice Anderson – 21.3 percent

DuPage County Board Member 6th District (Vote for 2)

Republican Jim Zay – 28.3 percent

Democrat Sheila Rutledge – 26.6 percent

Republican Kevin Wiley – 22.8 percent

Democrat Erica Green – 22.3 percent

Want to get notified whenever we write about any of these organizations ?

Sign-up Next time we write about any of these organizations, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

DuPage County Election CommissionDuPage County BoardDuPage County Clerk

More News