Dupage Policy Journal

Dupage Policy Journal

Sunday, January 26, 2020

Morley, Tully publicly oppose graduated income tax; Mussman, Connor don’t agree

Local Government

By LGIS Newsfeed | May 16, 2018


In an open letter to the General Assembly, 65 local government officials, including eight in DuPage County, asked state legislators to block attempts to scrap the state’s flat income tax in favor of a graduated tax structure.

“We ask that you pledge not to support a constitutional change that would allow for this tax structure, and that you sign on to House Resolution 891 or Senate Resolution 1590 declaring such intentions this year and beyond,” the letter stated.

Reps. Michelle Mussman (D-Schaumburg) and John Connor (D-Lockport) refused to sign the resolution in the House.

Local officials who signed the letter include:

– Steve Morley, Mayor of Elmhurst

– Martin Tully, Mayor of Downers Grove

– Steve T. Nero, Trustee Village of Westmont

– Amy Grant, DuPage County Board Member

– Tonia Khouri, DuPage County Board Member

– Sean Noonan, DuPage County Board Member

– Gary Grasso, DuPage County Board Member

– Michael Manzo, Oak Brook Trustee

The letter provides a list of reasons elected officials oppose such a change to the state tax structure, including the burden of a 32 percent tax hike that passed a year ago. Local officials said they oppose a change to the constitution because it would remove roadblocks that keep lawmakers from raising taxes to fix every budget problem.

“There is little trust that lawmakers will set fair tax rates for all citizens of Illinois,” the letter states. “Illinois has a spending problem, not a revenue problem, with state spending growing 25 percent faster than personal incomes from 2005 to 2015.”

The letter also points to the impact a change could have on businesses in the state.

“The flat tax is one of the few remaining competitive advantages of Illinois, with surrounding states passing effective workers’ compensation laws, better business policies and lower property taxes,” it stated.

“Our community’s small businesses would be hurt drastically,” it continued. “The National Federation of Independent Business states that pass-through businesses earning income of as little as $225,000 would see a 9.15 percent tax rate, based upon legislation filed in the House.”


Local officials opposing graduated income tax

Scott GryderKendall County Chairman
James NiemannEffingham County Board Chairman
David CampbellEffingham County Vice Chairman
Don MunsonDouglas County Board Chairman
Jefferey BeckmanFayette County Board Chairman
Emily DavenportLogan County Board Vice Chairman
Brandon BehlkeJo Daviess County Vice Chairman
Steve WeberWill County Treasurer
Glenda L. MillerMcHenry County Treasurer
Curtis P. NewportBoone County Board Treasurer
Lori WerdenGrundy County Treasurer
Robert WattJefferson County Treasurer
Kathy L. TateWarren County Treasurer
Gary FarhaAdams County States Attorney
Andrew DoyleWarren County States Attorney
Jim ReedSheriff of Bureau County
Mark StyningerWashington County Coroner
Rich HillMayor of Round Lake Beach
Steve MorleyMayor of Elmhurst
Martin TullyMayor of Downers Grove
Steve T. NeroTrustee Village of Westmont
Stephen HenleyMayor of Volo
Rhett TaylorMayor Village of Grayslake
Colonel Craig WilcoxMcHenry County Board
Thomas WilbeckMcHenry County Board
Chuck WheelerMcHenry County Board
Michael SkalaMcHenry County Board
Tom GlennDouglas County Board
Michael A. MadisonMadison County Board Member
Amy GrantDuPage County Board Member
Tonia KhouriDuPage County Board Member
Sean NoonanDuPage County Board Member
Gary GrassoDuPage County Board Member
Michael ManzoOak Brook Trustee
James D. FutrellMadison County Board Member
John A. SlagelLivingston County Board Member
Gregory A. MattingleyMacon County Board Member
David MichaelMadison County Board Member
Charles ThomasLee County Board Member
Thomas Madonia JrSangamon County Board Member
Robert PollardMadison County Board Member
Brent MilburnMayor of Mt. Auburn
John SchultzJo Daviess County Board Member
Chuck VenvertlohAdams County Clerk/Recorder
Rita HagenCalhoun County Clerk
LaDon TrostJo Daviess County Board Member
Chad McGinnisIroquois County Board Member
Michael A. DanforthLake County Board Member
Ron Mitchell Mayor of Crainville
Marilyn L. NeumeyerSwansea Village Trustee
Dale AndersonBureau County Chairman
Jon SandageMcLean County
Kathy L. TateWarren County Treasurer
Dave GreenliefWarren County Board Member
Mark MillerMarion County Supervisor of Assessments

Cory SingerWill County Board Member
Brian M. GaborPontiac City Alderman
Jan Carter NiccumSavoy Village Trustee
Richard HeinDouglas County Board member
Daryle ColemanFulton County Democratic Chairman
Alan McDowellFayette County Democrat Chairman
Chad KunkelMember Brown County Board
Rickey Williams JrDanville Alderman
Dale BermanNorth Aurora Mayor
Steven HoltkampColumbia Alderman

Want to get notified whenever we write about Elmhurst City Mayor's Office ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Elmhurst City Mayor's Office, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Elmhurst City Mayor's Office

More News