Dupage Policy Journal

Dupage Policy Journal

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Rep. Mazzochi earns Friend of Infrastructure Award from TFIC

Local Government

By Glenn Minnis | Oct 21, 2019


The Transportation For Illinois Coalition (TFIC) has awarded state Rep. Deanne Mazzochi (R-Elmhurst) with its Friend of Infrastructure Award.

“The members of the Transportation For Illinois Coalition are grateful for the leadership of Rep. Mazzochi and many of her colleagues,” TFIC managing director Jennifer Morrison said in presenting the award. “With the passage of this plan to provide sustainable and stable investment in our roads and bridges, transit and rail systems and our airports, Illinois policymakers provided taxpayers with a clear and forward-thinking plan to make improvements for safer, more comfortable commutes and an improved economy.”

With Mazzochi serving as a member of the Capital Appropriations Committee, lawmakers in Springfield recently passed legislation aimed at improving road and rail accommodations across the state.

Illinois state Rep. Deanne Mazzochi (R-Elmhurst)

“It was tragic to see so many of our roads, bridges or buildings literally crumbling or unsafe,” Mazzochi said in a press release. “Illinois has not had a major capital infrastructure package since 2009, and even some of those projects were still not done. This sets Illinois on a solid path to a better future.”

Mazzochi said such a plan is only fitting for a state that holds the stature of Illinois.

“Our state is the transportation hub of the country and we cannot afford to lose our status as a transportation leader,” she said. “Our local municipalities rely on rail stations; the stations support greener transit-oriented housing, and the activity helps keep businesses in our downtown cores healthy and thriving.”

Mazzochi was joined at the award ceremony by Westmont Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Larry Forrsberg, Westmont Village Manager Steve May, Bresha Brewer of IRTBA, Todd Britt of Metra, Ally Fields of CMT engineering, Rebecca Mason of the Infrastructure Council of the Illinois Chamber, Walt Nashert of Ozinga, Claire Serdiuk-Anderson of the RTA and Brian Umbright of EXP.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Transportation for Illinois Coalition ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Transportation for Illinois Coalition, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Transportation for Illinois Coalition

More News