Dupage Policy Journal

Dupage Policy Journal

Saturday, February 22, 2020

ILLINOIS STATE HOUSE DISTRICT 81: Stava-Murray to Serve on Property Tax Relief Task Force


By Press release submission | Aug 21, 2019


Illinois State House District 81 issued the following announcement on Aug. 19.

State Rep. Anne Stava-Murray, D-Naperville, will work to provide critical property tax relief for suburban homeowners as a member of the state’s newly created Property Tax Relief Tax Force, which will push for reforms to provide both long-term and immediate relief.

“Rising property taxes are a growing issue in our suburban communities, and as a member of this task force I’ll have the opportunity to be a part of the conversations on how to enact meaningful property tax relief,” said Stava-Murray.

Stava-Murray co-sponsored Senate Bill 1932 to create the Property Tax Relief Task Force, which is tasked with developing comprehensive solutions to provide long and short-term property tax relief to Illinois homeowners. As a member of the bipartisan task force, Stava-Murray will work with members of both parties and other stakeholders to report proposals for reform by the end of the year

To provide additional relief to local families and seniors, Stava-Murray also voted for a new law to create a property tax rebate for homeowners.

“Families move in to our communities because of the schools, parks, libraries and safe neighborhoods. We can fund these vital services without driving families out of their homes due to increasing property taxes,” Stava-Murray added. “I am eager to work with Democratic and Republican members of this task force to brainstorm creative, comprehensive solutions to the local property tax crisis.”

Original source can be found here.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Illinois State House District 81 ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Illinois State House District 81, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois State House District 81

More News